Anybody had experience with downloadservicearea.com?

Question by Halbert: Anybody had experience with downloadservicearea.com?
Well, methinks it’s a rip-off. In fact I’m all but certain.

I went searching for download sites for WINZIP.COM, since I wanted to get the full version. After a Google, I ended up connected to these folks. It looked official, kind of like download.com and other legit sites. So I entered my numbers and was supposed to get a key to register my WinZip with. But it never came. Finally I e-mailed them, and they wrote back, “You just bought access to our download area. To get the software license, you have to pay the software vendor themselves.”

And it just so happens that the price for this website’s “service” was exactly what WinZip was selling for. (They’re sneaky, aren’t they? Along with being sleazeballs.)

I’m awaiting another reply. If I’m wrong about this, someone convince me. Otherwise I’ll say, “Beware where you download software from. And Beware of downloadservicearea.com, or other similarly-titled websites.”

Best answer:

Answer by Fryemall
It’s a scam. Download from the Winzip.com site.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Post Tags:

Anybody,

Leave a Reply